Phoenix-RTOS is based on the written from scratch dedicated microkernel and consists of about 20K lines of code (LoC). Microkernel is responsible for:

  • memory management
  • thread and process management
  • inter-thread communication and synchronization
  • basic application interface implementation (syscalls)

Kernel is divided into five subsystems.

  • Hal - hardware abstraction layer
  • Lib - common routines
  • Vm - virtual memory management
  • Proc - process and thread management
  • Test - internal tests for kernel subsystems

Kernel source code

The source code of the kernel could be obtained using the following command

git clone

See also

  1. Kernel - HAL Subsystem
  2. Kernel - Processes and threads
  3. Kernel - Memory management
  4. Kernel - System calls
  5. Kernel - Common interface
  6. Table of Contents